I Even Bought a New Suit

My parents always wanted me to have a good job when I grew up. However as an adult I’ve only ever had one job and it lasted exactly 365 days.   I was a Rotating Intern in Toronto in 1985/86. Since then I’ve been a self-employed independent contractor. For the last several years I’ve been a professional corporation.

Thankfully the US Supreme Court has validated this role. According to the Supreme Court, corporations are people too.

It’s great being self-employed. I usually give myself excellent yearly reviews. I’ve only had to warn myself once and I’ve never been fired.

Lately though, I’ve seriously considered getting a regular job.

So I put in my application to become the next CEO of the Ontario Medical Association. I did a lot of homework. I did a lot of reading. I even bought a new suit.

Doctors don’t often wear suits. If you see a doctor wearing a suit, well then he’s probably a ‘suit’. That is someone who does more administration than clinical work. No one should wear a tie. They harbour all kinds of nasty germs.

I also tried to prepare my practice. I interviewed a replacement physician. It was an awkward process. “I may or may not be leaving practice, I’m not sure when, and there will be almost no notice”. Needless to say, they weren’t lined up out the door for that opportunity.

Fortunately, the Government helped me out there.   Because I’m a FHO and FHT physician, there is an artificial market for my practice because new physicians can’t open these practices in Hamilton.

At the end of the day, I didn’t get the job. I competed hard though and went deep into the competition. I was on a very short list, or so I’m told.

I likely didn’t have the necessary education and experience. I don’t know who will be chosen to be the new CEO, but I do know that the competition has been rigorous and whoever is chosen will make us all proud.

Why am I publishing my failure to get honest work? For two reasons.

First I want to let early career physicians and students know that it’s OK to compete for positions and lose. It happens to everyone.

Second, I received a lot of support and encouragement along the way and I want to let those people know that I tried hard and even though I failed, I appreciate their encouragement.

And of course, I still have my new suit. I just don’t have anyplace to wear it.

Scott Douglas Wooder, MD

One thought on “I Even Bought a New Suit”

  1. Scott…. Thanks for this honest and personal piece . Your insight and knowledge base regarding the health system and the role of doctors within it are unsurpassed… If they passed you by then I am certain that we will have an absolute superstar at the helm . So glad you put your hat in the ring to raise the bar !

    Like

Leave a Reply

